Types of Driving Licences, UK

There are different licences that generally allow you to drive different types of vehicles. It is seen that some licences usually overlap, which allows you to drive more than one type of vehicle. It is therefore crucial to know what is the type of licence you are working on and what licence allows you to drive. You can clear out all your doubts regarding HGV Licence cost and how to get a HGV licence for free  while knowing the types of licences and various other related aspects.

Motorcycle Category Licence

Category AM Licence

The AM licence earlier covered Mopeds and other two or three-wheel vehicles. But, recently an update has been made in this respect that it should also include Light Quadricycles. 

Category A1 Licence

An A1 licence allows you to ride a light motorcycle which has an engine size of up to 125 cc and a power output which is upto 11kw (14.6bhp).

Category A2 Licence

An A2 licence allows you to ride a motorcycle with a power output which should not exceed 35 kW and with a power/weight ratio not exceeding 0.2 kW/kg.

Category A Licence

A Category A licence is generally a full motorcycle licence, which let you to ride bikes with power exceeding 35 kW

Car and Light Vehicle Categories

Category B Licence

Category B licence lets you drive a motor vehicle which should have a  maximum weight of  3,500kg.

Category B Auto Licence

The Category B auto licence has the same conditions as a category B licence but, additionally these category vehicles should use an automatic transmission.

Category B+E Licence

Category B+E licence allows you to drive a combination of a category B motor vehicle and a trailer or semi-trailer.

Commercial Vehicle Categories

Category C1 Licence

The Category C1 licence generally allows you to drive the vehicles which usually weigh between 3,500 and 7,500kg with an option of a trailer that should not weigh more than 750 kg. The minimum age limit to acquire this licence is 18 years.

Category C1+E Licence

The C1 category licence assists you to drive vehicles having a trailer which is over 750kg. Additionally the combined weight of both should not exceed 12,000kg.

Category C Licence

Generally a Category C licence lets you drive Heavy Goods Vehicles weighing over 3,500kg (with a trailer up to 750kg).

Category C+E Licence

Category C licence lets you drive the Heavy and the rigid vehicles (HGVs) with a trailer that usually weighs more than 750kg.

Minibus and Coach Categories

Category D1 Licence

Category D1 licence generally lets you drive minibuses which are termed as the vehicles which should not have more than 16 passenger seats, and should be of  maximum length of 8 metres.

Category D1+E Licence

Category D1 + E licence can l;et you drive the Category D1 minibus with a trailer that usually weighs upto a maximum of 750kg.

Category D Licence

Category D licence can allow you to drive any bus having more than 8 passenger seats, with an option for a trailer which should weigh  less than 750kg.

Category D+ELicence

This licence allows you to drive any bus or coach with a trailer over 750kg.

Other Categories

Category F Licence

Category F licence lets you drive agricultural tractors, but these can also be driven on category B licence.

Category G Licence

The Category G licence allows you to drive road rollers which are steam or diesel driven.

Category H Licence

A Category H licence usually covers civilian tracked vehicles, which also includes former military vehicles.

Category K Licence

A Category K licence helps you to drive a ride-on mowing machine or pedestrian-controlled vehicle legally.

Also Read: HGV Driver Training